Southern and Eastern Africa Consortium for Monitoring Educational Quality

Members of SACMEQ

15 ministries of education and the IIEP:

Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania (Mainland), Tanzania (Zanzibar), Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The SACMEQ web site

The website provides information for outsiders but also acts as an exchange tool for members.
Visit the site>>

Ministries of education have joined together to improve the quality of education

SACMEQ is a collaborative network of 15 ministries of education, launched in 1995.

Conducting educational policy research that can be used by decision-makers

SACMEQ activities include project design, training, computer-based data analyses, data archive production, and dissemination of research results.

A co-operative structure

SACMEQ's Co-coordinating Center is located within IIEP. It has a Co-coordinator and operates under the overall guidance of a Managing Committee chaired by Seychelles' Minister for Education.
Its work has three main features:

  • ministries of education define the scope and structure of research and training programmes,
  • programmes function as co-operative ventures that are focused on long-term capacity building,
  • SACMEQ provides useful and feasible research-based advice on high-priority educational policy issues.

The SACMEQ Assembly of Ministers is chaired by the Mnister of Education in Uganda.