Governing Board


Governing Board members in Paris, France during the 63rd session held in hybrid mode.
This page is currently being updated. Please check back soon!

The Governing Board


The Institute is administered by a Governing Board, consisting of twelve members chosen for their competence and sitting in their personal capacity:

  • eight members including economists, educators and other recognized specialists in fields relevant to IIEP’s mission, with at least one member each from Latin America, Asia, Africa and the Arab States, and
  • four members designated, respectively by the United Nations, the World Bank, a UN Agency and a UN Economic Commission.

Such a unique composition ensures that IIEP’s programmes correspond to the needs of UNESCO Member States by drawing the diverse knowledge and experience of individuals. Such a small but effective and representative board is also an excellent way of ensuring a balance between autonomy and accountability to the Organization


The Board determines the general policy and the nature of the Institute’s activities within the framework of the general policy of UNESCO. It decides on the programme and the budget of the Institute and ensures the implementation of its activities.

Board members


Mr José Weinstein
Vice-President of Education
Fundación Chile
Santiago, Chile

 Designated members:

Mr Robert Jenkins
Chief, Education and Associate Director
United Nations Children’s Fund
New York, USA

Mr Jaime Saavedra
Global Director, Education
The World Bank 

Washington DC, USA

Mr Máximo Torero Cullen
Chief Economist
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Rome, Italy


Mr Srinivas Tata
Director, Social Development Division
United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific
Bangkok, Thailand

 Appointed members:


Mr Albert Nsengiyumva
Executive Secretary
Association for the Development of Education in Africa
Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire

Mr Keiichi Ogawa
Professor and Department Chair
Graduate School of International Cooperation Studies 
Kobe University
Kobe, Japan

Ms Pauline Rose
Professor of International Education
Faculty of Education
University of Cambridge
Cambridge, UK

Ms Emiliana Vegas

Professor of Practice
Graduate School of Education
Harvard University
Cambridge, USA

Ms Rong Wang 
Professor and Director
China Institute for Educational Finance Research
Beijing, China

Ms Dina El Khawaga
Professor of Public Policies and Public Administration
Cairo University
Cairo, Egypt

Ms Sara Ruto
Program Officer
Echidna Giving